Rollback is a MediaWiki extension that is a useful tool for fighting vandalism or removing incorrect information. Administrators are automatically granted access to "Rollback" under their permissions, but certain other users may be granted Rollback status as well. Any user who has more than 1,000 total edits may request rollback rights on this page's discussion page. Users with sysop rights on another wiki may also request rollback.
This tool appears when looking at the "differences" between edits. It allows a user to revert one or more edits just by clicking the [rollback] button. Rollback will automatically revert all edits made by that user and return the page to the state it was in before that user edited it.
How it worksEdit
The Rollback feature is used almost exclusively within the history page of an article.
The following Edit summary is automatically inserted as follows:
- m Reverted edits by User A (talk) to last version by User B
Where User A depicts the editor whose changes are being reverted, while User B signals the last editor of the page before User A's edits. Because the feature is used mostly to revert vandalism, a link to User A's talk page is also included as an easy way to issue warnings to that user.
In all cases the Rollback signals itself as a "minor edit", hence the bold "m" at the beginning.
When dealing with a "vandalism only" account, any edits by that user can be simply removed via the use of that user's contributions page.
[Rollback] will appear next to all pages which were last edited by that user, and it is a simple matter of clicking [rollback] wherever it appears.